Why PowerPool is not financial pyramid?

Hello!

I’m new in DEFI, and I have naive, maybe dumb, but important question.
Where did CVP got liquidity to provide such high APY? Tokens in “buskets” have maximum 20% APY, when PIPT for example provides 102%, how? In the first look it looks like financial pyramid.

Thank you.

Hi friend, compared to other DeFi platforms (some of them offer 1000%+ APYs), PowerPool offers pretty reasonable returns.

If you take a closer look, the APY you mention (102%) is given to SushiSwap liquidity providers. They need to deposit a basket of PIPT+WETH to SushiSwap to provide liquidity. Liquidity providers create a secondary market for PIPT and make it more efficient. Then they are rewarded for doing it.

2 Likes

Because such high APY is based on liquidity mining program or initial token distribution via liquidity mining. Almost all major Defi projects did this, including Yearn, Uniswap, Balancer, 1inch, Curve, and many more. It is a historically-proven and industry-grade approach for distributing tokens to liquidity providers. Or you want to say that all mentioned projects are financial pyramids?

I like this question because a lot more common/new-to-crypto people (who should also be in our target audience) would also ask it. We must be prepared to provide simple yet clear and well structured answers.

2 Likes

Hello!

Thanks all for answers! I almost get it. Last question: where is from in LP such high %? There is 0,3% fee for swap in Sushi. Does such high APY get from quantity of swaps or the thing is in smth else?

Thanks

such APYs for LPs are sponsored by projects.
In YETI/ETH, YLA/ETH case, rewards are provided by $SUSHI.
PIPT/ETH by CVP.

That’s a common practice, in general finance companies pay to big Market Makers, like citadel. In crypto, everyone can be a marketmaker.

SUSHI pays SUSHI tokens for that. They do it because they want to attract more liquidity on their platform, including CVP liquidity